PWR Scholarship


Doctoral students Luke Borkowski, mechanical engineering, and Jin Zou, chemical engineering, have been awarded scholarships from the Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne (PWR) fund established at the Adaptive Intelligent Materials & Systems (AIMS) Center in ASU’s School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy.

Munir Sindir, director of engineering technical disciplines at PWR, presented the awards at the AIMS Center on October 17.  Monica Jacinto, Fellow, Structural Alloys from PWR, Aditi Chattopadhyay, AIMS Center director, Lenore Dai, AIMS Center associate director, Yongming Liu, AIMS Center faculty member and Kyle Squires, school director, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy were also in attendance.

Both recipients will work in the AIMS Center for the period covered by the award.

Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne, a part of Pratt & Whitney, a United Technologies Corp. company, is a preferred provider of high-value propulsion, power, energy and innovative system solutions used in a wide variety of government and commercial applications, including engines for launch vehicles, missile defense systems and advanced hypersonic engines.

The AIMS Center focuses on fundamental advances in “smart” materials, sensors, nanotechnology, microelectronic devices, information technology and computational tools and integration of these research discoveries to the next generation of vehicles, devices and infrastructure. Advances in these technologies are being used to design novel multifunctional materials and systems, including bio-inspired sensors, with improved properties and embedded “health monitoring” capabilities through self-sensing and self-healing characteristics. The work promises to advance aerospace vehicle design with advanced diagnosis and damage prognosis system as well as resilient infrastructure.