AIMS Center Receives $27,000 Award from Northrop Grumman

August 9, 2018

The AIMS Center has been awarded a new AIMS Consortium award within the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport & Energy (SEMTE)  in the amount of $27,000 for a core project with Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems.

Faculty Exemplars & Outstanding Assistant Professor Award

June 6, 2018

SEMTE has many faculty members who perform at a high level and our faculty continue to do extraordinarily well at achieving both internal and external recognitions for their accomplishments. Dr. Yongming Liu and Dr. David Nielson have both been recognized as Exemplar Faculty and Brent Nannenga has received recognition as a Fulton Outstanding Assistant Professor. [link]

Nithya Subramanian Awarded Carbon Journal Prize

May 30, 2018

Dr. Nithya Subramanian was awarded a “Second Place Distinction” in the competition for the 2018 Carbon Journal Prize. The prize completion was for “an outstanding PhD thesis in carbon materials science and technology”. Dr. Subramanian’s has been recognized on the Carbon Journal website for her exceptional work. [link]

Outstanding Mentor Award

April 2, 2018

The AIMS Center’s newest Postdoc, Dr. Ashwin Rai, has received the prestigious Outstanding Mentor Award from the Graduate and Professional Student Association at Arizona State University.  Dr. Rai is recognized for his exemplary mentorship to the University/Community.  For more information regarding the Outstanding Mentor Award Program, please click on the link provided.[link]

ARCS Scholar Award

February 28, 2018

The AIMS Center’s very own student, Chris Sorini, has received the prestigious ARCS Scholar Award from the Phoenix Chapter of the ARCS Foundation.  Sorini is being recognized for his outstanding scientific achievements during his time here in the AIMS Center.  For more information about the ARCS Scholar Award, please click on the link provided.[link]

AIMS Center Newsletter

September 29, 2017

The AIMS Center has released the Fall 2017 Newsletter.  This newsletter covers all the highlighted research undergoing within the AIMS Center, includes faculty and student achievements, and other highly noted updates regarding the AIMS Center. [PDF]

ULI Kick-Off Meeting

August 24th, 2017

The AIMS Center is participating in the ULI Kick-Off Meeting taking place from Thursday, August 24th-25th, 2017, on ASU Tempe Campus.  The Meeting is facilitated by Principal Investigator– Dr. Yongming Liu, and features many important researchers and presentations.  [Agenda]   [ULI Information]

STTR Kick-Off Meeting

August 3, 2017

The AIMS Center is hosting the STTR Kick-Off Meeting taking place on Thursday, August 10th, 2017.  The Agenda is attached to the link.  [link]

The AIMS Center Welcomes the New 2017 URAP & HSAP Students

June 27, 2017

Congratulations to Bhavik Patel, Aldo Soberon, and Jack Miller for joining the URAP and Chase Lee for joining the HSAP all under the instruction of Dr. Chattopadhyay.

14th International Conference on Fracture

June 18th-23rd, 2017

Siddhant Datta presented his paper at the 14th International Conference on Fracture located in Rhodes, Greece. [link]

Ashwin Rai, PhD student at the AIMS Center, has paper accepted for presentation at IMECE Conference

June 19, 2017

Ashwin Rai has his paper accepted for presentation at the IMECE Conference which will take place in Florida this November.  The paper is titled “Reinforcement of Composite Joint Interface using Nanomaterials’ code: IMECE2017-72623.” [link]

AIMS Center Receives $10 Million NASA Grant

May 23, 2017

The AIMS Center is awarded $10 million grant from NASA to develop next-generation air traffic control.[link]

Nithya Subramanian, PhD student at the AIMS Center, awarded the Amelia Earhart Fellowship

Nithya Subramanian was names an Amelia Earhart Fellow for 2016-2017 for her contributions to the aerospace industry. She was highlighted in Full Circle, the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering news website, for this award. [link]

Prof. Aditi Chattopadhyay named Regents’ Professor

Aditi Chattopadhyay, Ira A. Fulton Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering in the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, has been named Regents’ Professor, the highest distinction given to faculty of Arizona’s state universities. [link1] [link2] [link3]

Engineering achievements earn professor honors from her alma mater

Impressive accomplishments in mechanical and aerospace engineering recently earned Arizona State University professor Aditi Chattopadhyay a 2013 Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur. [link 1] [link 2]

Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne scholarships awarded for Spring 2013

Doctoral students Jinjun Zhang, Mechanical Engineering, and Elizabeth Nofen, Chemical Engineering, were awarded scholarships from the Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne (PWR) fund established at the Adaptive Intelligent  Materials & Systems (AIMS) Center in ASU’s School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy. more..

New method to test materials can aid national defense

ASU engineers Aditi Chattopadhyay, Masoud Yekani Fard and Yingtao Liu have devised an improved method for testing the resiliency of advanced materials used in military equipment and defense systems. [link1] [link2]

Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne scholarships awarded for Fall 2012

Doctoral students Luke Borkowski, mechanical engineering, and Jin Zou, chemical engineering, have been awarded scholarships from the Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne (PWR) fund established at the Adaptive Intelligent Materials & Systems (AIMS) Center in ASU’s School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy. more..

Air Force Awards 2-Year additional MURI Funding to ASU

The Mechanical and Aerospace Department is pleased to congratulate MAE Professor Aditi Chattopadhyay on approval of the optional two years for her Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) program on structural health monitoring. See more details in pdf.

MAE assistant professors Jiang and Sodano receive 2009 NSF CAREER awards

The Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department congratulates Assistant Professors Hanqing Jiang and Henry Sodano on receiving 2009 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Awards. CAREER funding represents NSF’s most prestigious award in support of the early career-development activities of teacher-scholars who “most effectively integrate research and education within the context of the mission of their organization.” More details in pdf.

Sodano receives Gary Anderson Early Achievement Award

The MAE Department is pleased to congratulate Assistant Professor Henry Sodano, who has been awarded the Gary Anderson Early Achievement Award presented by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Adaptive Structures and Material Systems Technical Committee. The award will be presented in March at the upcoming SPIE 2009 Smart Structures and Materials meeting in San Diego, California. This award is given to a junior researcher whose work has made a significant impact in the field of smart materials. Dr. Sodano will receive a certificate and honorarium of $1,000.

ASU helps keep nation’s military aircraft healthy

The project is led by Aditi Chattopadhyay, a professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering in the Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering and director of ASU’s Adaptive Intelligent Materials & Systems (AIMS) Center. She is overseeing work to develop systems and techniques to better monitor the structural health and predict potential wear and tear in aerospace systems. Download content as pdf.

Defense department renews support of research to develop advanced aerospace health-monitoring systems

Download content as pdf.